About Barry



Personal Details

Residence: Henley on Thames

Date of Birth: 21 June 1960

Nationality: British

Turned Pro: 1976

Height: 175 cm

Weight: 85 Kg

Wife: Camilla

Children: Ben 1990, Emma 1992 & Elliot 2000

Dog: Alfred 2008


Little Bit about Me

I grew up in Bracknell with father Derek, mother Dorothy, brother Nick and sister Louise.

I started playing golf with my father in a field in Bracknell.

I was 14 years old and my father bought me some clubs from a newspaper advertisement. I managed to break three of them the first week.

I played golf every day after school and caddied at the weekends to earn money so I could play during the week.  This I did for two years until I turned pro at 16.  (When I was 15, I spoke to my school’s career officer, he laughed at my dream of being a golf professional. It just goes to show if you have a dream – Go for it!)

I worked as an assistant pro at Downshire Golf Club for 8 years.  Mostly teaching and repairing clubs.  I also played in lots of Pro-Ams and one-day events in the South of England.

I went to the European tour qualifying school seven times. I made my card after the third of seven attempts. I did not have a sponsor for the first two years, so only played UK tournaments.

In 1986 I finished seventh at the School and played the European Tour until 2011 and I have played over 670 tournaments.

My first win was in the 1988 Scottish Open, so it has a special place in my heart.  It took me four more years to win my second tournament the Mercedes German Masters.  Then went on to win three more European tournaments and in America one World Match play Championship.

Now I am 50 and enjoying life on the Seniors Tour, so it’s nice to meet up with old friends. I have managed to win three times in 1 ½ seasons – so I continue to really enjoy my golf.

When I’m home I am a real couch potato. Spending time reading, eating biscuits, cakes or anything that is sweet!! Thank God I have a job that gives me lot of walking.

Camilla and I love to spend time in our summerhouse in Sweden, where we go out with friends on their boats, take our dog for long walks and play some golf at Skaftö Golf Club.